It seems like every day I would go to ESPN.com during college football bowl season there would be an article featured about “how to bet this bowl season” by Chad Millman under the “headlines” section on the home page.

Now why ESPN would waste a spot on their home page for an article detailing gambling techniques I don’t know, but I hardly gave it a second thought and went on about my business as I usually do, perusing the day’s news and stories.

I kept coming across Millman’s gambling articles and decided to see how deep ESPN actually takes gambling.

While college basketball analysts debate how much Robbie Hummel’s injury will affect Purdue in the NCAA Tournament, Millman writes about how Hummel’s injury impacts Vegas.

You can apparently gamble on the NFL Combine as well. This reminds me of multiple scenes from the movie “Rat Race”, where while waiting for the results from the race all the rich men place bets on things that are minor and irrelevent.

What can one gamble on at the NFL Combine? The highest 40 time? The lowest Wonderlic score? So this raises the question, “Is there anything you can’t bet on in sports?”

If you said yes, you’re wrong.

While browsing ESPN I noticed they have a video game section, which is cool and convenient, and more importantly incapable of having any gambling material, right? Wrong.

I look under the headlines on the video games page, and sure enough there is an article titled “How to Bet on Video Games”.

ESPN Video Games writer (Yes, that job actually exists) Jon Robinson interviewed a new website that actually allows gamers to play other gamers for cash.

My thought is that ESPN is treating gambling as the next big “sport”, like MMA. Whether or not they will continue to make a push for this concept is a mystery, but I’m betting they do.

